OSCL celebrates 21st in grand style

first_img… Dant take lion’s share of awardsBy Frederick HalleyTORONTO, Canada – Dant were once again the centre of attraction when the Ontario SoftballSponsor and businessman Nirad Lall hands over cash incentive to Dant’s Hemnarine Chattergoon.Sponsor and businessman Nirad Lall hands over cash incentive to Dant’s Hemnarine Chattergoon.Cricket League (OSCL) held its glittering and radiant 21st annual Presentation Dinner and Dance at the Estate Banquet Hall, Scarborough here, last Saturday night.Following their all-conquering dream debut season in 2014 and a somewhat disappointing performance in 2015, Dant stormed back to make a clean sweep of all the major titles in 2016 while several of their players were rewarded for outstanding performances.Dant were crowned Division A regular season (20 overs) conference winners, Division A playoff champions, T10 tournament winners and 15-over victors, in the process copping the Twilight Family Restaurant, Remax All Stars Realty, DTE Industries and the Norman Sue Bakery trophies.Newcomers Enterprise enjoyed a fantastic season in the B Division, playing unbeaten in the regular season to capture the conference title, winning the B Division playoffs and being runners-up to GTA Storm in 15-over Consolation final.For their efforts, Enterprise walked away with the I Saw That on TV and Fundex Investment winning trophies and the Norman Sue Bakery runner-up trophy while GTA Storm collected the winners’ prize.After an obviously disappointing year, Caribbean Sensation had to settle for the T10 Consolation trophy, sponsored by DTE Industries following their win over East Coast who took the runner-up prize.Among the Most Valuable Players recipients were Dant’s Shaun Deonandan and Sunshine’s Avinash Sukhdeo in the Conference A playoff final; Rabindra Diaram (Enterprise) and Rawl Scott (Carr Tec) in the Conference B playoff final; Satrohan Balkarran (Dant), Imran Ali (Sunshine), Seenarine Narine (Enterprise) and Winston Forrester in the Norman Sue-sponsored 15-over tournament and Hemnarine Chattergoon (Dant), Jairam Ramoutar (Better Hope), Rakesh Dyal (East Coast) and Reyaz Prahald (Caribbean Sensation) in the DTE Industries-sponsored 10-over competition.Former Guyana and West Indies Under-19 player Chattergoon, with 380 runs, led Conference A with the most runs while Krishna Deosarran (East Coast) and Davendra Ramkissoon (Better Hope) were second and third respectively with 360 and 352 respectively.In the B Division, former Guyana Chronicle sports journalist Ravendra Madholall (Restoration Warriors) led the way with 295 runs and he was followed by Kenny Girdharry (Scarboro Angels) and Richard Rossan (Ramblers) with 285 and 277 respectively.The four top bowlers in Conference A were Zakir Khan (Caribbean Sensation), Mahendranauth ‘Bobby’ Parasnauth (Sunshine), Pradeep Singh (Rems) and Anil Mahadeo (Sunshine). Khan topped with 27 wickets while Parasnauth and Singh took 26 each and Mahadeo 20.The B Conference saw Rossan (21 wickets), Surendra Beepat (GTA Storm with 17), Vydnand Sookram (Robbies with 17), Ashok Ramjas (Carr Tec with 17), Dinanauth Mangru (Cougars with 15) and Naresh Budhram (Cougars with 15) being the top bowlers.Centuries were recorded by Harrienarine Chattergoon (Carr Tec), Rawl Scott (Carr Tec), Ryan Bhup (GTA Storm), Krishna Deosarran (East Coast) and Troy Gobin (Rebels), while there were five-wicket hauls for Ian Gonsalves (3 Counties EDB), Khemraj Bhowan (3 Counties EDB), Shameer Latiff (Better Hope), Raja Pooran (GT Bannas), Donald Harriprashad (GTA Storm), Nirad Lall (GTA Storm), Ashok Ramjas (Essequibo), Bobby Parasnauth (Sunshine) and Ansar Ali (Wakenaam).The annual Independence Cup, sponsored by Trophy Stall (Guyana), was won by Team Jaguars with Kumar Doodnauth emerging as the MVP.The OSCL President’s awards went to vice-president Terry Mathura and secretary/Public Relations Officer Frederick Halley for their “outstanding dedication and contribution to the OSCL.”The Norman Sue Spirit Awards, given annually to worthy individuals who have played big roles both on and off the field, were presented to teenager Avlin Budhram (Cougars) and Dant’s manager Zanil Jumarli. They were presented by the late businessman’s granddaughter Nyssa Naraine and daughter Kim Sue respectively.A feature of this year’s ceremony was the introduction of cash incentive prizes, compliments of businessman Nirad Lall who is also the marketing director of GTA Storm.Dant received Cdn$1 000 for winning the 10 and 15 overs tournament while Caribbean Sensation and GTA Storm collected $500 each for copping the T10 and 15-over consolation respectively. MVPs for the A and B Division playoffs were also rewarded with $50 each. Lall pledged to make it an annual affair.last_img

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *